Scottish Smallbore Rifle Association  

News · Contact us · Who we are · Calendar · Journal · Links
Hall of Fame · Squads & Athletes · Grand Prix Classifications · Scottish Records
Domestic Competitions · Domestic Results · International Competitions · International Results
Development & Performance · Coaching Courses · Picture Gallery ·  Discussion Forum

News Archive - 2017


With the emergence of Scottish Target Shooting as the professionally-run umbrella body in Scotland, from now on any competition info, membership data, and results will sent and publicised primarily via the STS website where queries can also be made. Rest assured, however, that results from 2017 competitions still currently running, such as the recently-concluded SSRA Prone Indoor League plus the SSRA/STS Team Prone Indoor League, will be archived in good time to the Domestic Results page for the forseeable future.

Winter League Round-Up

The final set of winter postal competitions run under the banner of the SSRA have now come to an end.

In the Silver Medal competition, Ken Greenaway of St Andrews won Class A with 299, beating Hugh Simpson of Wick Old Stagers on countback. Class B went to Ruaraidh MacLeod of Bearsden, Jim Nicol of Dufftown winning Class C. Disappointingly there were no entries in Class D or the Junior categories, but Ken also took the Veteran award. The CanDicap competition also went to Jim Nicol of Dufftown.

The Speedway final was cut from the normal 16 shooters to 9 as a consequence of low entry numbers. Jim Cole-Hamilton took the title two points clear of Tom Hodgson, with Richard Simpson in third. Jim's gunscore was lower than both Tom and Richard, but fortuitious timing gave him the extra points required to take the win. Once again, no final for class C&D shooters was held.

In the Individual Prone League Ken Greenaway pipped Peter Richard for Division One, while Bobby Spence was the clear winner of Division Two. In the team league, Bon Accord won Division One four points clear of Banff & MacDuff A. Division Two was a little closer, Larbert A getting ahead of Banff & MacDuff B at the end. Division Three went the way of the Kirk Michael club from the Isle of Man, who only gave up one point across the whole ten rounds. Division Four was won by a rampant George Watson's College A team, with Edinburgh University C winning Division Five. Aberdeenshire shooters topped the average tables, Lenny Thomson the best with 99.3, followed by Jon Latimer on 99.1 and Ian Shanks on 98.9.

The results of the first round of the Medal, CanDicap and Speedway are currently missing - if anyone can provide a set, please get in touch!

Scottish 10m Air Rifle Championships

This event has been covered on the Scottish Target Shooting website, and you can find the article here. Unfortunately the event clashed with the European 10m Championships in Maribor, with the leading Scottish athletes attending that as part of the wider British team.

MiniMac wins Air Rifle GP series

With Vikki Walls, Alloa away training in Norway, the final shoot of the season was eagerly awaited by shooters in attendance at Glenrothes.  She could be pipped for the overall GP Air Championship by clubmate Seonaid McIntosh, provided the latter could beat her sister Jen.

In the final, Seonaid had an advantage of 1.9 after 10 shots, with the early leader Keira Bexley of Target Technique, in third.  As the final progressed Seonaid gradually built up a small lead.  She eventually emerged as the winner by 3.0 over Jen.

This stupendous effort ensured her overall victory in the GP series.

(match report courtesy of Cyril)

The results from the Megalink software can be found here.

Scottish Air Rifle Championships (in Glasgow)

Follow this Azolve link to enter the two-day event:


The first Air Rifle Grand Prix of 2017, and the fourth in the current series, was held at the Cumberland News club in Carlisle on 14th January. Rachel Glover from the Isle of Man took the honours in the final, finishing well ahead of Vikki Walls (Alloa & District), with Andrew Gutenmacher (Bearsden) in third place.

With one event remaining, next month in Glenrothes, Vikki leads the Grand Prix series with 36 points, ahead of Robin Law on 27 and Seonaid McIntosh on 24.

© 1974-2017 Scottish Smallbore Rifle Association